Summer time and the livin’ is easy…

So now that graduation is over and so is the school year, the summer has started and things in Columbia have slowed way down. I’m working as a teaching assistant at the Columbia Missourian, the J school’s lab newspaper at Mizzou, and hanging out in Columbia until it’s time to head out to D.C.

Columbia is so quiet in the summer. This will be my third summer in town, and it’s always so laid-back and relaxed. There’s always parking (which is a big deal haha) and fun stuff going on. And St. Louis and Kansas City and all they offer are just two hours or less away. It’s a good place to be this time of year.

Right now, I’m in Pittsburgh though, chilling at home for a few days and helping Jewels get settled in before her internship starts at the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review. It’s nice to be home for a bit and back in Pittsburgh. It’s relaxing to be away from everyone and everything and detox from the end of the semester. I fly back to Columbia on Sunday.

Now that graduation is over, everyone is kind of starting to move out into the “real world”. Jewels is working for the Tribune-Review in Greensburg as a general assignment reporter for the summer, but she hopes it might turn into an extended internship or job in the end. Jedd is still working at the Columbia Tribune, where they made his job full-time. Alex headed back to California on Tuesday for the summer to look for a job or research grad school. And Rae moved to New York today for her internship at Standard and Poor’s. Bryan is going back and forth between St. Louis and Columbia for the summer before classes start at Vanderbilt in August, and Tom is in China for Illinois Wesleyan’s spring May term before his job starts up in Chicago.

I have a lot of to-do’s to get done before I leave Columbia for good, and I’ve been slowly kind of putting a list together of things I want to do before I skip town. Luckily I’ve got a good two-and-a-half months before I go.  It’s been hard saying goodbye to people when I don’t really know how long it will be until I see them again, and I know it’s going to be tough leaving Columbia for good too. But for now, it’s time to kick back and finish watching the first season of True Blood, then keep on keepin’ on when I get back in town.

My goal is to start posting a lot more often now that I have more time to, so I’ll try to get back to a post every couple days.

Leave a Reply

