Two months in…

I saw a friend of mine this week that I hadn’t seen in quite a while. She moved out east the same time I did, and was surprised when she saw me in Columbia.

“What are you doing here?” she asked.

“I moved back a couple weeks ago; I transferred after Christmas,” I told her.

“Are you happy?” she asked.

“Yeah, I wasn’t really liking it out there, and the program wasn’t what I thought…” I continued the standard story I tell when people ask why I moved back.

“Yeah, but are you happy?” she pressed further.

Her question threw me a bit, because with everything that’s been going on in the two months since I got back here, I really hadn’t had anyone ask me that directly how I felt about it, nor had I really thought about it that much myself. But the answer, as I told my friend, is unequivocally yes. Sure there have been glitches and frustrations and disappointments, but they’re nothing that overwhelms the dinners with Anna and Amy or the Waffle House trips with TJ and Bowen and Sue or the roadtrips to the STL or KC or the nights driving around out in rural Missouri just listening to music and admiring the scenery or the innumerable other things that make moving back here all worth it.

I’m on the right track. I’m at home. And, yes, I am happy.

One thought on “Two months in…

Leave a Reply

