From the kitchen, part 1

I have a lot going on the next couple weeks, and not a lot of money to just grab food out while I’m doing stuff, so I decided to cook a lot of stuff this weekend that I can put in the fridge and the freezer and just heat up as needed. First up, a Mexican lasagna inspired by one my friend Anna made a few days ago.

This was a pretty easy one. I took the 9 x 13 baking dish and sprayed it with non-stick spray, then lined it with a layer of tortilla, then a layer of shredded cheese (I used a blend of cheddar and pepper jack that Kraft has out). I browned some ground beef with some salt, pepper and dried onion, then sprinkled some taco seasoning over it and let it simmer for a few minutes. I added a layer of the taco meat, then some enchilada sauce, more cheese, and another tortilla layer before repeating the process with the rest of the taco meat. The top layer of tortillas is sprinkled with more of the cheese and some dried cilantro.

It turned out really well. Derby looked pretty jealous when I was eating it.

Next time, though, I’ll definitely reserve some of the enchilada sauce and some more of the cheese to put on the top. The top layer of tortillas got crispy and it was really tasty, but it also made it difficult to cut into and will make freezing it harder also.

One thought on “From the kitchen, part 1

Leave a Reply

