From the kitchen, part 2

In today’s “from the kitchen” installment, we have potato-bacon soup, based on a recipe from the “A Year of Slow Cooking” blog. My grandparents bought me a Crock Pot when I was in St. Louis a couple weeks ago, so this offered a chance to put it to use.

I basically followed the recipe from the blog, but I added a little cajun seasoning to the spice mix and refrigerated the spiced potatoes for a couple hours before adding the chicken broth and turning on the slow cooker. I also added bacon pieces at the beginning rather than as a garnish, because as we all know, bacon makes everything better.

Garnished with some of the same cheddar-and-pepper-jack shredded cheese that I used in the Mexican lasagna, this soup was really great. I’ll definitely be making it again.

Next time, though, I think I’ll only put some of the bacon in at the beginning and put the rest in toward the end so there are more bacon chunks in the soup instead of it getting incorporated into the rest of it.

Leave a Reply

