The school year is upon us

I’ve been abandoning my blog again, which I keep promising I won’t do, but then class or work or personal life things come up and this goes on the back burner for a while.

It’s the last night before the fall semester starts. There’s potential that this could be my last first day of school ever, and potential that it could, as usual, be one of many more. I feel like I can’t really say much more than that, other than that I might have some tough decisions to make career-wise in the next couple weeks. Send some good thoughts my way.

I went to Connecticut with Graham and Kevin a couple weeks ago to see Kevin off to Belgium and visit dental schools with Graham. It was a fun trip; we visited New York and Boston and Connecticut, which is an area of the country I haven’t spent much time in.

I think I travel more than the average person – certainly not as much as someone who travels for a living like my dad but definitely more than Joe Student here at Mizzou. Things like going through airport security and turning down a Coke on a plane have become really mundane to me. But there’s still a thrill when the plane takes off and lands that gives me goosebumps every time I fly, and there’s the indescribable feeling of hitting the tarmac in St. Louis and knowing I’m home that I hope no matter how much I end up traveling in life never goes away.

We’re coming up on my favorite time of year, and as hesitant as I am to be back in class full-time I know there’s plenty to look forward to in the next couple months. I love the fall season in Missouri – in Columbia in particular. The weather is great, the scenery is nice and there’s a lot going on. I love driving around the rural areas around Columbia with my windows down this time of year to enjoy the breeze when the weather gets nice, it’s a great exercise in relaxation. Football games start soon, Homecoming will be happening in a few weeks, and I have a wedding and a lot of hang-out time with my friends coming up soon to look forward to also. Coming off a particularly good summer, it’s nice to know that I have a particularly great fall to look forward to now as well.

As usual, I’m hoping to write here more, but no promises haha.

Leave a Reply

